Stacks of Skulls

If you know me, you know I have a love of skulls. It’s kind of become “my thing” over the years.

My mom will tell you I always liked things that were “a little different,” but I can’t for certain tell you why I began my cranial collection. It has nothing to do with being morbid. It doesn’t hold any meaning (although I do love the subtext of La Calavera Catrina). To me it’s simply edgy fashion.

And, when I think skulls meets fashion, I think of one man – Alexander McQueen. Since Kate Moss first wore that iconic print in 2004, the gothic romantic designer reworked it through many of his collections and jewelry lines.

Kate-Moss-2004dance

But no piece procured a cult-following like the skull print scarf, which still gets re-invented every season with different colours, print techniques, and fabrics. While I have yet to own one (someday, someday…), I have picked up several look alike pieces, and branched beyond into blouses, bags, and books (not for reading, purely for aesthetics).

DSC02039

DSC02043

7566_10151606387846081_1800902951_n

DSC02045

DSC02009

DSC02048

When it comes to skulls my one rule is keep the rest soft. My all time favourite skull piece shows this juxtaposition perfectly.

DSC02157

Nothing like a sweet, soothing baby Jack to off-set this print.

Like skulls? How do you wear them?

Leave a Reply

